NUSD board earns top statewide honor
NUSD board earns top statewide honor
Posted on 12/17/2018
ASBA Award Recipients

The governing board of the Nogales Unified School District was named this year’s recipient of the Lou Ella Kleinz Excellence in Governance Award, the highest honor bestowed by the Arizona School Boards Association.

The announcement was made at the ASBA conference in Phoenix on Friday, Dec. 14. According to the ASBA, the award is named for its former executive director and “recognizes the Arizona school board that demonstrated the most outstanding education leadership for the year.”

The NUSD board’s membership includes Barbara Mendoza, Santiny Orozco, Manuel Ruiz, Greg Lucero and Marcelino Varona, Jr.

Superintendent Fernando Parra said the NUSD community is “very proud, very honored” to have the governing board recognized for “all its hard work, collaboration, and dedication.”

“It is certainly well deserved,” he added.

The prize is awarded to a school board that has shown initiative, action and leadership in areas that include focus on students, progress in achieving goals, fostering increased parental involvement, collaborating with social agencies and/or community groups, including other governing bodies, and creating a school community which fosters quality performance and innovation.

The judging is done by a panel of past presidents of the ASBA, a private, nonprofit, non-partisan organization that provides training, leadership and other services to public school governing boards around the state. More than 240 governing boards, representing nearly a million Arizona students, are members of ASBA.

LEK Award
ASBA Conference 2018